Category Archives: Social Networks
Posted by Mike
This scamming app appears to be making another return to Facebook! Noticing a surge in searches for information on this scam app, I spent some time the past few days doing some research into ‘Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile’. My first discovery of this app is the subject of a post on this blog.
Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile has made regular appearances on Facebook over the past few years in several guises. The one common factor is it claims to inform Facebook members about who is viewing your Facebook profile, then after being allowed to connect to your Facebook account, it directs you to a website where you are required to subscribe to a cellphone subscription service, or provide details about yourself; cellphone and e-mail among these.
A more detailed report on my findings can be read on
Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile is a SCAM
The scam has at times offered a ‘link’ to a website (Copy and past this link in your browser…)
Anyone coming across the Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile scam app should
- Block it immediately on their Facebook page(s).
- Not click on the link whatever you do!
- Report the app to Facebook
I would also appreciate instances of this app being reported using one of the methods on the mentioned Graphicline webpage. WordPress, Facebook and Twitter account owners can also use the comment form below. The linking URL will not be made public! I do not want to propagate this scam further.
My intention is to spread the warning about this scam.
Any app or website claiming to be able to provide information about viewers of your profile should also be reported. This kind of information is NOT available from Facebook. Any claims that any app or website can provide this information is false; It is a scam, a phishing attempt, and criminal. Any website, app or service that has managed to access this information has done so ILLEGALLY.
Stay vigilant to protect your information and yourself, and prevent the spread of these types of malware.
Posted by Mike
The recent app, ‘Who is Viewing Your Profile’ is a SCAM, NOT the official Facebook ‘Insights’ This app is a 3rd party app, which may at the very least violate Facebook’s Terms and Conditions for applications. Official Facebook statistics are FREE from Facebook Insights.
This app keeps on making a return: Despite Facebook upgrading the app screening process, it looks like ‘who is viewing your Facebook profile has returned again. A sudden upswing in searches on Google for information about this malignant app strongly indicates who is viewing is active. Do not permit this app to access your Feacebook account. It is a SCAM.
The app directs you to a Facebook page
which instructs you to click a link to continue. It requires permission to connect with your facebook Account using a non-secure connection (http) If you click the ‘continue’ button, you will be directed to a website set up by a gambling operation, and asked to enter your cellphone number. One of the options is to subscribe to a cellphone app… the other is to ‘see if you are lucky’