Do You Post Effective Comments


Or are Your Comments Trashed?

Posting comments on other blogs is one of the things bloggers do; some post a lot of comments, others only occasionally. Whichever group you fall into, do you post effective comments?

What are Effective Comments?

Blog commentsEffective comments fall into several main groups:
1) Effective Comments get your own post referred to (from a link you place in the comment).
2) Comments generating discussion or further interest.
3) Comments that add value to the article

But most importantly, EFFECTIVE COMMENTS are comments that get published! Unless your comment gets published, it’s a waste of time writing it… So how can you improve your published comment rate?

Ethical Comments Get Published

By ethical I mean comments that are not spam. Most bloggers hate spam comments, and anything ‘spammy’ in nature is likely to get trashed. Following a few simple guidelines will improve the publishing rate of your comments:

  • Write about the post you are commenting on: Your comment should always add value to the article: Bloggers spend a lot of time authoring their posts, and all hope it will end up well placed in search engine results. Comments that are not centered around the main topic (keyword group) reduce keyword group density, thereby reducing the SEO value of the post. Your comment can harm the bloggers SERP if it reduces keyword group density. Effective comments boost the SERP of the article, not diminish it.
    Try to find the key phrase the author is using, and add the term to your comment. This adds to the value of the post (for Search Engines) and you can be certain the blogger will look kindly at your comment, and most likely approve it. An ethical comment is always relevant to the subject matter.
  • One outgoing link only: Do not use more than a single outgoing link, and then only if it goes to a post related to the bloggers article content! Outgoing links to irrelevant posts are SPAM!
    There is only one exception to this rule. Where there is a field for a website (usually after the name or e-mail field) it is permissible to use the URL to your blog or website e.g. http://www.graphiclineweb.wordpress.com
  • Effective comments should be longer than a single line. Write two or three concise paragraphs. Short comments like “good work” and so on add nothing to the value of the blog post, and if you then have the cheek to add an outgoing link – SPAM!
    The only exception: When you follow a blog, and you want to compliment or thank the author on his (or her) work, it is permissible to leave a short comment (without any links) telling the author you enjoyed the article, But don’t expect it to get published. In fact, unless you know the blogger and have a rapport, add a remark to the effect “I don’t expect this comment to get published – I just want to say good work”. Do this especially if you have never commented on the blog before.
  • But not too long, Ethical comments should normally be no longer than three paragraphs. (With a few exceptions e.g. where a discussion is taking place with the comment author, or responding to a request for information or help). If you have so much relevant commentary, blog it, then write one or two¬† short comment paragraphs referring to your post!
  • Don’t add links to every comment! Blog authors are more likely to post your comments if they do not always link out, and will take more kindly to the ones that do have outgoing links if these are occasional instead of regular. Omitting links tells the author you are interested in his (or her) work, not just using the blog to SEO your own site.
  • Never use a fake e-mail address. Many of us do check these things, especially if the comment is suspiciously ‘spammy’. If we send a test e-mail and get a failed message report, you can be certain the next thing we will do is click “trash” this comment…

There you have it. Effective comments are ethical comments. Ethical comments get published.

Happy commenting

About Mike

Web Developer and Techno-geek Saltwater fishing nut Blogger

Posted on January 24, 2012, in General News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Comments Closed:
    Due to heavy spambot activity on this post I have closed comments for now – Mike

  2. I have to admit to being guilty of the “Too Short Comment” from time to time. Though in my defense and in the defense of some of the possible offenders out there, there are times, when I just want to say, “Hey, nice article.” And for a long time, that’s the only option you had if you wanted to say so.

    Fortunately, the “Like” options are so ubiquitous now, there are actually too many ways you can click that you like a post. But these like options are definitely better than the alternative of going back to trite one line comments.

  3. Thanks for the careful and thorough response. I have always encouraged dialogue on my own blogs, but it does not often occur. However I try to respond to most comments whenever I can. I think that acknowledgement of readers and those who leave comments is a standard of good communication.

    I’m not a fan of having to sign in through my real life name via Facebook. I prefer using my blogging name since that is how I am generally known on line. I imagine there is a way around this–alternate Facebook account, opening a Twitter or WordPress account–but I haven’t gotten to that yet. Too bad about the spammers–it’s an evil and a hassle that I don’t understand, but deal with.

    Thanks. I’ll be back.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  4. One of my recent topics was concerning comments and the link to your post on effective comments was recommended so I added it to my post even though I dealing with the effective comment topic in a somewhat round about way.

    Your points are enlightening though probably less applicable to the types of blogs I typically frequent. I agree with what you’ve said here. I am still trying to understand the concept of “key words”. Would I be correct in assuming the key words for this post are “effective comments”?

    I always include a link to my blog with my signature so it’s easier to link back to my blog if the recipient blogger wishes to check out my site. This is something I began doing in my frustration to find the sites of some of my commenters. Do you accept that link as appropriate?

    I’d be happy for you to check out my blog and let me know your opinion. I’ll now be keeping up with yours as your information seems to be helpful.

    Thanks

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • Lee, if this is representative of the type of comment you make it is very acceptable… The point I was trying to get across was that when linking to a specific article, it should always be relevant to the post being commented on. However it is also ethical to signoff with an identity, and the home URL link is then appropriate (desirable). So I’m pleased you mentioned using a signature. Definitely the way to go!

      I wrote this post specifically to give some tips to a client who is a newbie to blogging and website ownership, in response to a request for some information (commenting is after all a really useful tool to get sites and blogs publicised). I tried to give him some so-called good practice advice to set the ball rolling. I often do this instead of just writing an e-mail; perhaps someone else will find the articles useful.

      Keywords: Absolutely correct Lee, The main keyword group or key phrase is “effective comments” with a second lower density term “ethical comments”. I have been intending for some time to write a full article on keywords/key phrases for a series posted on my work site – lately there always seems to be something else requiring attention, but I will definitely get round to it soon. It will be mentioned on this blog when done, so if you check back occasionally I hope this will help…

      I admittedly take a very hard line with comments on this blog, and the other’s I manage for clients as well. WordPress.com blogs get a lot of spam from automated spambots as well as human spammers (hence the log-in requirement – it’s not to discourage real comments, but to stop the spambot problem). I find this on self hosted WordPress sites as well – seems the spammers have got the tools to do their ‘dirty deeds’ well developed. My own (and clients) blogs on Blogger don’t seem to have this problem though.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,266 other followers

